PREVIEW: Fast and Furious at Thruxton

The fast sweeping bends at Thruxton provide some of the best racing conditions for the Dunlop Mini Se7en and Mini Miglia Challenges

The fast sweeping bends at Thruxton provide some of the best racing conditions for the Dunlop Mini Se7en and Mini Miglia Challenges and there will be plenty of racing action during rounds 9 and 10 on Saturday 18 and Sunday 19 August.  


In 2012 the race to win the coveted title of Dunlop Mini Se7en Champion is as fierce as it has ever been. After eight races of the Dunlop Mini Se7en Challenge 2006 Champion Andrew Deviny is the current man on form finishing on the podium in every race so far this year and holds a 10 point advantage over reigning champion Paul Spark. However only the nine best finishes count at the end of the season and so the race to the title is very much alive. As ever, there is no let up in the challenges from all quarters, with double race winner Gareth Hunt, Leon Wightman, round 8 winner Darren Thomas and 2011 Novice Champion Ashley Davies all in with a chance of glory at Thruxton.

The S Class title is also hotly contested, with 2011 Vice Champion Julian Proctor taking six wins from the first eight races but will have to face challenges from Robert Pavey, Kevin O’Shea, James Burrows and new boy Roland Parsloe.


As in previous years, 2012 has seen the Dunlop Mini Miglia Challenge arguably providing more entertainment than any other series in British club motorsport and with the return of five times champion Peter Baldwin the entertainment factor has been taken to a new level.  The driver from Cambridgeshire has won everything there is to win in a circuit racing Mini in every decade since the 1960s and the 72-year-old is aiming for a record breaking 6th title and after taking four wins and three second place finishes  he could secure the championship here at Thruxton. However he will face some competition from various quarters.  

Double Vice Champion Colin Peacock is the most consistent points scorer on the grid and 2010 Champion Paul Thompson has taken two wins so far this year.  At the other end of the age scale from Peter Baldwin finds Aaron Smit who beat the Grand Master at Donington and will be seeking another victory at Thruxton. 2011 Vice Champion Dave Drew took his first Miglia victory at Thruxton in 2009, while Rupert Deeth and Richard Casey will almost certainly be in the front running pack.  

Thruxton will provide the perfect track for the dramatic showdown between the leading drivers and could provide the identity of the 2012 Dunlop Mini Miglia Champion.


Qualifying and Round 9 of the Dunlop Mini Se7en and Mini Miglia Challenges will be held on Saturday, with Round 10 for both championships following on Sunday.

CLICK HERE for the provisional timetable and other information for Rounds 9 & 10 at Thruxton

Racing • 12th Aug, 12 •

<< Back to News