Brands Hatch Winter Series preview

With the 2023 National titles decided two weeks ago at Silverstone, the Mini 7 Racing Club returns home to complete its seven-round Winter Series…

When the Mini Se7en race series first began at Brands Hatch in 1966, who would have imagined these iconic little machines would still be competing almost 60 years later, let alone still breaking lap records. Yet here we are, with racing development of these classic cars continuing at pace, and three new class lap records set earlier this season at the Brands Hatch Mini Festival.


Racing is frantic from lights to flag, with battles throughout the field to keep you enthralled over three 20-minute outings. Relatively low power outputs and a rather brick-like aerodynamics keeps the playing field level, so it’s unusual for any one driver to dominate the proceedings. Look out for the experienced drivers holding back in the top-five places until the very last lap, and a mad dash to the finish!


The Winter Series consists of seven rounds, with drivers able to drop their two lowest scores, and this weekend all four classes will be competing together on the same grid, so expect a lot of action!


Phil Bullen-Brown currently leads the standings in the fastest 1293cc Mini Miglia series, and will hope to keep up his momentum from a win last time out. Also look out for multiple Miglia champion Rupert Deeth, whose brand new (and rather stealthy) car is very much on the pace after a few rounds of development.

In the original 998cc Mini Se7en series, Joe Thompson currently leads the points, and will be keen to stay in front of provisional National Champion Mike Jordan to take a share of the top trophies. Ross Billison and Spencer Wanstall will be there at the sharp end too, on a weekend that traditionally throws in some surprise winners.

The entry-class Mini Se7en S-Class continues to provide bumper grids, with Matt Ayres holding a comfortable points advantage before drop scores, but provisional Champion Jonathon Page will no doubt be as quick as ever. If Frazer Hack and Michael Winkworth are having a good day, both will be contenders for a win.


We also have the Mini Libre series, an invitation class for more wild A-Series power units competing alongside the Mini Miglia grid. Craig Edgecombe not only won his class last time out, but overtook all the Mini Miglia cars too – twice! Let’s see who comes out on top at a tighter circuit that tends to favour cornering speed over all-out horsepower.




LAP RECORDS (2.356-mile circuit)

Miglia:             Aaron Smith                                    0:54.092            79.37 mph                        6 August 2023           

Libre:                        David Franks                        0:54.800            79.35 mph                        25 August 2018

Se7en:            Mike Jordan                                    0:58.247            74.65 mph                        6 August 2023

S-Class:            Matthew Page                        0:59.359            73.25 mph                        6 August 2023








Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>